Division News

School Board Trustee Elections

Have your voice heard! An elected board is returning to Northland School Division.

Are you passionate about the future successes of Indigenous children and youth? Do you want to make a difference?

Be a leader and consider running for the School Trustee Elections this fall.

The primary role of a school trustee is to serve and advocate for all students and to understand and reflect community values and priorities for schools.

Don’t miss this opportunity to help us lead the way in First Nations, Metis education and help Northland students achieve to their fullest potential.

NOMINATION DAY: Monday, September 18, 2017                   ELECTION DAY: Monday, October 16, 2017

Are YOU thinking about running in the 2017 School Board Elections?  

Have you read Alberta School Boards Association's (ASBA) brochure? Click here to view the brochure! 

Other helpful resources are continually being added to the ASBA Election website, including videos So You Want to Become a School Board Trustee and FAQ.

NORTHLAND ELECTORAL WARDS - click here for full ward map

Northland is divided into 11 Wards with one trustee being elected in each ward.


Communities Eligible to Vote in Ward

Schools Within Ward


Paddle Prairie

Keg River


Paddle Prairie

Dr. Mary Jackson


Susa Creek


Susa Creek


Gift Lake


Whitefish Lake First Nation No.459;


Utikoomak Lake No. 155/ 155A/ 155B


Gift Lake

Bishop Routhier


East Prairie


Kapawe’no First Nation and Sucker Creek First Nation;

Sucker Creek No. 150A

Kapawe’no First Nation No. 150B/ 150C/ 150D/ 229/ 230


Grouard Northland


Peerless Lake

Trout Lake

Little Buffalo

Lubicon Lake Band, Peerless Trout First Nation, and Woodland Cree First Nation;

Woodland Cree No. 226/ 227/ 228

Lubicon Lake

Peerless Trout Indian Reserve No. 238

Peerless Trout First Nation

Peerless Lake


Little Buffalo



Sandy Lake

Bigstone Cree First Nation Wabasca 166

Wabasca 166A/166D

Pelican Settlement


Career Pathways

Pelican Mountain



Chipewyan Lake

Bigstone Cree First Nation

Wabasca 166B/ 166C

St. Theresa

Chipewyan Lake


Calling Lake

Bigstone Cree First Nation;

Jean Baptiste Gambler No. 183

Calling Lake

Calling Lake Outreach


Fort Chipewyan

Mikesew Cree First Nation and Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation;

Old Fort No. 217

Dog Head No. 218

Allison Bay No. 219

Devil’s Gate 220

Sandy Point No. 221

Chipewyan No. 201/ 201A/ 201B/ 201C/ 201D/ 201E/ 201F/ 201G

Athabasca Delta Community





Fort McKay

Chipewyan Prairie First Nation, Fort McKay First Nation, and Fort McMurray No. 468 First Nation;

Clearwater No. 175

Gregoire Lake No. 176/ 176A/ 176B

Janvier No. 194

Cowper Lake Indian Reserve 194A

Winefred Lake Indian Reserve No. 194B


Bill Woodward


Father R. Perin

Fort McKay



Fishing Lake



J.F. Dion

Individual Ward Maps - will be updated shortly

General Information

Qualifications of Candidates

A person may be nominated as a candidate, if on nomination day, the person

  • is eligible to vote in the election;
  • has been a resident of the local jurisdiction and the ward for the six consecutive months immediately preceding nomination day, and;
  • is not otherwise ineligible or disqualified.

Note:  these are general guidelines, candidates should refer to the Local Authorities Election Act and the School Act for complete information. 

Nomination Day

Takes place only on Monday, September 18, 2017.  Completed nomination papers must be received between the hours of  (times still TBD) at the following Northland School Division locations: 

  • Central Office, 9809  - 77th Avenue, Peace River
  • Additional Sub Offices (TBD)

Form 3 - Nomination Paper & Candidate's Acceptance and Instructions on how to fill out (original copies only, faxed and email copies will not be accepted)

Election Day

Monday, October 16, 2017

Polling stations will be announced

Other Resources:

NSD School Board Trustee Handbook (will be linked shortly)

NSD Policies - Policy development is under the purview of the Board of Trustees 

Policy 3 - Role of a Trustee

Policy 4 - Trustee Code of Conduct

Northland School Division Act

Corporate Board Meeting Dates 

ASBA - News Article - School boards urge people to run for trustee positions

Coffee with ASBA: Interview with Indigenous Relations Minister Richard Feehan

Municipal Affairs - Elections


Contact the following:

Trudy Rasmuson, Returning Officer: trudy.rasmuson@nsd61.ca  (780) 624-2060 

Melanie Mantai, Executive Secretary: melanie.mantai@nsd61.ca (780) 624-2060 ext. 6104

Lois Byers, Official Trustee: lois.byers@nsd61.ca (780) 624-2060


Additional election information will be updated as information becomes available. 

"Every student is a lifelong learner and successful in life"