Division News

School Food Services

About School Food Services

The first School Lunch Program started at Conklin Community School in October 1973. Four Aboriginal communities were selected as a result of a request by the Métis Association of Alberta to the Alberta Government to fund a nutritional hot lunch program for children in northern Alberta. The Program was founded on a community development concept allowing individual programs to be managed and operated by people in each of the designated communities. There are currently 26 School Lunch Programs. School Food Services operates as a separate entity within Northland School Division. It provides consulting services for 26 hot lunch programs and employs approximately 47 kitchen staff, 3 book keepers, 1 accountant and 3 office staff.


  • To provide a nutritious lunch to every student where the program operates
  • Help children learn by providing up to 1/2 of their daily nutritional requirements


Emily Hunt - Operations Manager

780-624-2060 ext 6169

Bishop Routhier School
Hillview School
Joussard School (Association) 
Mistassiniy School
Pelican Mountain School

Maria de Boer - Program Consultant

780-624-2060 ext 6171

Athabasca Delta Community School
Bill Woodward School
Calling Lake School
Conklin Community School
Dr. Mary Jackson School
Elizabeth School
Fort McKay School
Grouard Nothland School
Kikino School (Association)
Susa Creek School
St Theresa School

Pat Storms - Program Consultant

780-624-2060 ext 6170

Anzac Community School
Caslan School (Association)
Chipewyan Lake School
Father R. Perin School
J.F. Dion School
Gift Lake School
Kateri School
Little Buffalo School
Paddle Prairie School
Peerless Lake School
Red Earth Creek School (Peace River School Division)

Association Schools

Caslan School (Association)
Joussard School (Association) 
Kikino School (Association)
Red Earth Creek School (Peace River School Division)